Arkansas Debt Relief
Arkansas offers lots of interesting areas to explore as well as moderately sized cities and towns. Forestry and agriculture form much of the state’s economy. Arkansas is ranked #32 for population and #35 for population density.
As of 2018, over 3 million people called Arkansas home. Little Rock is the largest city in Arkansas.
The median state income is $55,484. As of 2018, the minimum wage is $8.50 per hour. Unfortunately, 23.5% of Arkansas children under 18 live in poverty. For residents overall, 17.2% of all people in Arkansas live under the poverty level.
- Median state income: $55,484
- Minimum wage: $8.50/hour
- Children in poverty: 23.5%
- People in poverty: 17.2%
Is Arkansas a Community Property State?
Arkansas is not a community property state. Therefore your assets are not seen as equally owned by you and your spouse. Currently, there are only 10 states that are community property states. In the state of Arkansas, the judge will decide which assets are shared by you and your spouse, and what the equity is for each.
More than half (68.6%) of Arkansas residents hold a mortgage. The median home price in Arkansas is $169,000 (2018). Of course, that median price depends on the location with some areas being much higher.
- Homeowner rate: 65%
- Median home price: $122,000
Arkansas has recovered from the depression and the current employment rate is 3.8%. However, the underemployment rate is 7.5%. Underemployment is the percentage of civilian workers who are unemployed, employed part-time or are not seeking employment.
If this is you, we can help. Pacific Debt offers Arkansas debt relief solutions tailored to your unique situation and budget. Our certified counselors help you work up a budget, and explain your options.
- Unemployment: 3.8% (2018)
- Underemployment: 7.5% (2017)
Arkansawyers carry a lot of debt. The average credit card debt is $6,747 (2018). The average student loan debt is $26,173. When you add all that debt on top of the cost of homes (rental or owned), versus the median income, it is very easy for Arkansawyers to get into debt.
- Avg credit card debt: $6,747 (2018)
- Avg mortgage debt: $126,481 (2017)
- Avg student loan debt: $26,173 (2017)
Arkansas Statute of Limitations
Arkansas’s statute of limitations lays out maximum time periods that debt collectors can take action against a delinquent debt. These statutes of limitations begin on the date that your debt goes delinquent.
For debts taken out in Arkansas, the following are the statutes of limitations for different types of debt.
- Oral agreements: 3 years
- Written contracts: 5 years
- Promissory notes: 5 years
- Credit cards and other revolving loans: 5 years
Arkansas Debt Relief & Debt Consolidation
If you have more debt than you can pay off, Pacific Debt can help you consolidate your debt and learn to live debt free. Since 2002, we’ve settled over $200 million in debt for thousands of clients. We are a nationally top ranked debt relief company located in San Diego.
We will help you work through our proven and comprehensive debt relief program. Your certified debt relief counselor will review all your options. If debt settlement is right for you, we move forward with our debt consolidation program and work to save you money. Pacific Debt can help with most unsecured debt like credit cards, personal loans, medical bills and repossessions.
It is not an easy process and it won’t happen overnight, but you can do it. Pacific Debt will be there every step of the way to help.
Debt Collection Laws
Arkansawyers are protected against unscrupulous debt collectors. The federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) prohibits debt collectors from using abusive or harassing bill collection practices. In addition, the Arkansas Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (AFDCPA) adds protections against more types of collectors and actions. If you are a victim of any of these actions, you may take legal action against them.
Overall, debt collectors can NOT:
- Charges more than 10% interest
- Garnish more than 25% of wages
- Use/threaten physical force or criminal tactics to harm you, your property, or your reputation
- Accusing you of committing a crime for not paying the debt
- Make/threaten to make defamatory statements to someone else
- Threaten arrest, to seize assets, or garnish wages, unless actually planning to take such action
- Use obscene or profane language
- Cause you to spend money you wouldn’t otherwise have spent (ie long-distance telephone calls)
- Call you repeatedly or let your phone ring repeatedly
- Call frequently
- Contact your employer, except to verify employment or health insurance status, garnish wages or locate you
- Reveal information about debt to anyone except your spouse or your parents if a minor.
- Publicly publish your name for failing to pay
- Send a postcard or letter with revealing information on the envelope
- Claim to be someone other than a debt collector, including a governmental official
- Use stationary that appears to be from a law firm
- Charge you collection or attorney’s fees unless legally allowable
- Threaten to report you to a credit reporting agency if they have no intention of doing so
- Send a letter claiming to come from a claim, credit, audit, or legal department unless it actually is
Debt collectors must:
- Disclose caller identification
- May contact your family to locate you
- Must serve you with notice of a lawsuit if suing you
Bankruptcy Court Information
Bankruptcy is a legal action that can erase most of your debt as well as your credit history. It is not an action to take lightly. If you do, you must follow the following steps in Arkansas.
Persons filing for bankruptcy must:
- Complete credit counseling within six months before filing for bankruptcy.
- Complete a financial management instructional course after filing bankruptcy.
- Complete a Bankruptcy Act Means Test to determine if you are eligible for a Chapter 7 or 13 bankruptcy
- Itemize current income sources; major financial transactions; monthly living expenses; debts (secured and unsecured); and property (all assets and possessions, not just real estate).
- Collect last 2 years of tax returns, deeds to real estate you own, car titles, and loan documents
- File for bankruptcy
- Chapter 7 bankruptcy fee is $306
- Chapter 13 bankruptcy fee is $281
- Meet with court assigned bankruptcy trustee
- Attend a Meeting of Creditors
- Confirm plan if filing for Chapter 13 bankruptcy
DISCLAIMER: We are not lawyers and are not giving legal advice. Before filing bankruptcy, talk to a lawyer in your state.
Arkansas Better Business Bureau
Pacific Debt is an A+ rated business with the BBB. We have been accredited since 2010. We have received 4.87 out of five stars based on 40 customer reviews with the BBB.